Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

City Council

General Information

The City Council is the governing body of the City, except as otherwise provided in the Charter, and enacts ordinances subject to the approval or veto of the Mayor. It orders elections, levies taxes, authorizes public improvements, approves contracts, and adopts traffic regulations. The Council adopts or modifies the budget proposed by the Mayor and provides the necessary funds, equipment, and supplies for the budgetary departments. The Council confirms or rejects appointments proposed by the Mayor and prescribes duties of boards and officers not defined by Charter.

The Council is provided technical assistance by the Chief Legislative Analyst's Office. Personnel from this office are assigned to work with the various Council Committees and the Council as a whole to gather information which the Council may require for the passage of City legislation.

Council Rules are procedural. Rules are adopted, pursuant to authority set forth in Charter Section 242, to assist the City Council in the orderly conduct of City business consistent with law.


Council meets regularly on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday in the John Ferraro Council Chamber, Room 340, inside City Hall at 10:00 am. All meetings are open to the public.

Name Email Phone Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube
Mayor - Eric Garcetti @MayorOfLA @mayorofla
City Attorney - Mike Feuer @cityattorneyla @cityattorneyla
City Controller - Ron Galperin @LAController @LAController
Council Member District 1 - Gil Cedillo @gilcedillo
Council Member District 2 - Paul Krekorian @paulkrekorian @paulkrekorian
Council Member District 3 - Bob Blumenfield @BobBlumenfield @bobblumenfield
Council Member District 4 - Nithya Raman @nithyavraman @nithyaforthecity
Council Member District 5 - Paul Koretz @PaulKoretzCD5 @paulkoretz
Council Member District 6 - Nury Martinez @CD6Nury @CD6Nury
Council Member District 7 - Monica Rodriguez @MRodCD7 @mrodcd7
Council Member District 8 - Marqueece Harris-Dawson @mhdcd8 @mhdcd8
Council Member District 9 - Curren D. Price, Jr. @CurrenDPriceJr
Council Member District 10 - Mark Ridley-Thomas @mridleythomas @mridleythomas
Council Member District 11 - Mike Bonin @MikeBoninLA @mikeboninla
Council Member District 12 - John Lee @cd12la
Council Member District 13 - Mitch O'Farrell @MitchOFarrell @mitchofarrell
Council Member District 14 - Kevin de León @kdeleon @kdeleon
Council Member District 15 - Joe Buscaino